First Date Disasters

Standard

Click on the link below to watch a funny video.

First Date Disasters

Have you ever had a first date disaster? I’m sure everyone of us has at one time or another. My guess is, it never works out for a second date disaster either. But there are exceptions. One of my first date disasters involved a guy I was very attracted to and worked with at a bank in a different department than me. We saw each other a daily basis and my imagination went wild whenever I saw his smile. My hormones did too. A mutual friend set us up to share break time together and in the process a lunch date was planned. I think he took me to McDonald’s. Okay, not so high class, but it was lunch and we only had so much time.

When we sat down to eat, he reached into his pocket and pulled out cigarette. I hate smoking, but he did ask my permission and I didn’t want to come across prudish. This was several years ago before all the big hullabaloo about how secondhand smoke can cause cancer too. I could tell he was nervous, his hands were shaky. It seemed odd to watch him light the cigarette and then something very unexpected happened. As he held the matchbook in one hand and a lit match in the other, flames ignited in front of his face. He waved his hand vigorously in an attempt to put out the fire. Once the flames subsided, we both coughed from the smoke.

“What happened,” I asked.

“I don’t know. Somehow the matchbook caught fire,” he explained, his face blood red with embarrassment.

As our lunch progressed, I realized he was trying to come across as a more mature man, rather than the boy he actually was at the time. Needless to say, our lunch date was short and sweet with no repeat performances or a second date.

What I learned from that experience was that just because a guy is really cute, it doesn’t mean he’s ready for any kind of real relationship. Granted, I was only about twenty years old then, but I really wanted a steady boyfriend. I had conjured things up in my mind about this guy that simply were not true and certainly not anything he could have remotely lived up to either. It’s hard to see things realistically when you’re going gaga over someone. In that respect, I was the immature one. When yearning for a loving relationship, God sometimes brings about our circumstances to help teach us that we’re not really ready for that sort of thing yet. It’s best to stick with Jesus as my first soul mate and trust Him to bring my husband into my life at the right time when I am ready.  Looking back, that was a really funny moment and one I obviously haven’t forgotten.

Please share your thoughts with me in the comments section. How do you keep trusting God for the love you need in your life?

Don’t forget to check out my new book “Date, Pray, Wait” available on Amazon.com, your local bookstores, and my author website at http://londahayden.com.

Leave a Reply

