The Quiet Ride

Image

Excerpt taken from “Date, Pray, Wait”

It was a balmy summer night just after a Bible study at a friend’s house. As a Christian single, I chose to live a virtuous lifestyle. This left me alone and date free on many occasions. A guy named Mark attended the small group. We knew each other well, but had never dated. He drove a motorcycle and wore a leather jacket. We talked in the front yard for a while, and as I turned to leave, Mark asked me if I would like to go for a ride. I hesitated, but then remembered the thrill of being on a motorcycle once before and considered the cool breeze against my skin now beaded with sweat from the humidity. Mark handed me a helmet, and I hopped on behind him.

“Hold on,” he said.

I grabbed his belt loops.

“No, you’ll have to hold on tighter than that.”

I wrapped my arms around his waist and screamed as the bike jerked forward onto the street with the blast of the engine fading behind us. My long hair flew from beneath the helmet, as a smile of relief welcomed the cool breeze on my face. The thrill of the ride brought a much-needed exuberance I hadn’t felt in a long time. This is the coolest ever, I thought.

After a few minutes, I laid my head against his back, closed my eyes and let the wind carry my thoughts away. My imagination and the mesmerizing hum of the motorcycle settled my mind. The warmth of his back penetrated through the leather jacket to my cheek and upper body. Our souls began a silent communication with one another. Nothing needed to be said as two lonely hearts comforted one another in quiet revelry.

He drove for a long time, then headed up a secluded country road. The stars were bright in a moonless sky, but it was so dark you couldn’t even see your hand in front of your face. The motorcycle slowed to a stop, and we got off the bike to stand on the edge of a dirt road. I could barely see the barbed wire fence silhouetted in starlight before us.

“Do you mind stopping for a while? I like coming here to enjoy the peace and quiet,” Mark said.

“Sure,” I said.

I looked up at the stars and commented on their brightness. He mentioned how the chirping of the crickets sounded like music, and that was the extent of our conversation. We stood there for what seemed an eternity just listening to the symphony of life being orchestrated around us. In that moment surrounded by darkness, I felt safe and at peace.

We got back on the bike, and he dropped me off at my car. I drove home sensing something special had happened in the darkness of the quiet ride we had shared that night. God used that moment to remind me that He would never leave me or forsake me. Being single left me feeling completely alone at times. That motorcycle ride reminded me that God was still there giving me a quiet ride through the darkness. He didn’t need to say much. The warmth of his presence comforted me, and the orchestration of life being conducted by the Holy Spirit was all around me.

You are not alone. God’s presence is with you to comfort you and give you peace. Hold on tight and He will give you a quiet ride through the darkness of life.

Psalm 23:1-2 “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters.”

To order your copy of “Date, Pray, Wait” – Click Here

Leave a Reply

